2022 Alaska election guide: Q&As with candidates for U.S. House, U.S. Senate and governor – Anchorage Daily News

A voter cast his ballot in the special primary election for Alaska’s lone congressional seat in Anchorage on June 8. (Bill Roth / ADN)
The Anchorage Daily News invited the candidates for statewide office — U.S. Senate, U.S. House and governor — to give their views on key issues and to discuss their priorities if elected ahead of the Aug. 16 primary and special U.S. House election and the Nov. 8 general election. Many of the questions came directly from readers or were based on readers’ suggestions.
Below are the candidates, sorted by race.
Alaska voters will receive one ballot for the Aug. 16 elections, and will need to complete both sides:
• Side 1: Primary races for U.S. House, U.S. Senate, governor and legislative seats. Voters should pick one preferred candidate in each primary race. The top four vote-getters in each race will then advance to the November general election.
• Side 2: The special ranked choice election that determines who will serve out the rest of the late U.S. Rep. Don Young’s term. The candidates are Nick Begich III, Sarah Palin and Mary Peltola. Voters should rank these candidates in order of preference. (Begich and Peltola participated in the survey; Palin did not respond.)
[Alaska’s first ranked choice election is on Tuesday. Here’s how it works and what to expect.]
D = Democrat; R = Republican; L = Libertarian; AIP = Alaskan Independence Party; NP = Nonpartisan; NA = Non-affiliated; U = Undeclared
* incumbent
(Voters rank candidates in order of preference)
Nick Begich III (R)
Sarah Palin (R) – Did not respond
Mary Peltola (D)
(Voters select one candidate; top four advance to November election)
Edgar Blatchford (D) – Did not respond
Patricia Chesbro (D)
David Darden (U)
Dustin Darden (AIP)
Shoshana Gungurstein (NP)
Sidney “Sid” Hill (NP) – Did not respond
Jeremy Keller (NP)
Buzz Kelley (R) – Did not respond
Huhnkie Lee (U)
Samuel A. “Al” Merrill (R)
Lisa Murkowski (R)*
Pat Nolin (R)
John Schiess (R) – Did not respond
Kendall Shorkey (R)
Karl Speights (R) – Did not respond
Joe Stephens (AIP)
Ivan Taylor (D) – Did not respond
Sean Thorne (L)
Kelly Tshibaka (R)
(Voters select one candidate; top four advance to November election)
Jay Armstrong (R)
Nick Begich III (R)
Gregg Brelsford (U)
Chris Bye (L)
Lady Donna Dutchess (NP)
Ted Heintz (NP) – Did not respond
David Hughes (U) – Did not respond
Davis LeBlanc (U) – Did not respond
Robert “Bob” Lyons (R) – Did not respond
Sherry Mettler (U) – Did not respond
J.R. Myers (L)
Robert Ornelas (American Indep. Party) – Did not respond
Sarah Palin (R) – Did not respond
Silvio Pellegrini (U) – Did not respond
Mary Peltola (D)
Andrew Phelps (NP) – Did not respond
Randy Purham (R)
Brad Snowden (R) – Did not respond
Sherry Strizak (U)
Tara Sweeney (R)
Denise Williams (R) – Did not respond
Tremayne Wilson (NP) – Did not respond
(Voters select one candidate)
Mike Dunleavy (R)* – Did not respond
Les Gara (D)
David Haeg (R) – Did not respond
John Wayne Howe (AIP)
Christopher Kurka (R)
William Nemec (U) – Did not respond
Charlie Pierce (R) – Did not respond
William “Billy” Toien (L) – Did not respond
Bruce Walden (R) – Did not respond
Bill Walker (NP)
Additional candidate info at the Alaska Division of Elections.
If you have questions or concerns, please reach out to Editor David Hulen at [email protected]
© 2022 Anchorage Daily News. All rights reserved.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *